Nicholas Gray Fine Art

Artist Statement     

       My work currently explores the nature of the human condition, and the environmental concerns that we face as a species through the play of found materials and various mediums. As humanity continues to rapidly grow and consume resources faster than we can replenish them, the thought of “where will we go when we deplete our resources and destroy the planet in the process?” constantly creeps into my thoughts. I make work that addresses these issues by using reclaimed and repurposed materials that I find throughout my life to give these discarded items new meaning and to help reduce waste. I seek to find the fine line of representational and nonrepresentational imagery to create a sense of suspense and wonder and invite the viewer to ponder these critical issues that we face as the ambassadors of our planet.

While not every material is repurposed, I tend to make a conscious attempt at utilizing as many as I can depending on what piece I am working on. These items can range from found metal objects and house paint to large rugs and industrial shrink wrap. I engage with these materials in an intuitive and purposeful way, creating fast gestural marks or relying on collaging techniques while maintaining ambiguity. My work typically is made in phases and layers, but is not limited to these practices. I also utilize digital video and audio manipulation in my work.

Since the Earth is the only home we will ever know and we as a species are ravaging it beyond what it can keep up with I couldn’t help but wonder what are options are? The answer to me seems to always point to the cosmos and the billions of other planets out in the expanse of space, pristine and pure in its own way. The “Exoplanet” series is the result of this contemplation. I moved on from there to explore human space flight and the history of NASA.  This lead me to researching the Columbia and Challenger shuttle disasters along with the Apollo I capsule fire, which is where my art is currently at.  My work is continuing to test my understanding of where we have come from and where we are going. I will continue to explore the human condition through creating art to help myself and others understand how we might be able to regain control of our tumultuous habits.

 


<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/147376314″>Anomaly:Volume 1</a> from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/user45447868″>Nicholas Gray</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Leave a comment